Petero Civoniceva Medal update after Round 12; Nikorima sitting 5th

By Colleen Edwards (QRL content producer)

Some outstanding play between Round 9 and Round 12 has seen livewire Taine Tuaupiki surge up the leader board in this season’s Petero Civoniceva Medal tally.

The Burleigh Bears fullback has been in fine try-scoring form and with all games now completed up to Round 13, Tuaupiki sits in front of the chasing pack in the race for the Hostplus Cup best and fairest.

Central Queensland Capras talent Trey Browne remains in the hunt, while a number of leading-from-the-front performances from Northern Pride skipper Jayden Hodges has also seen him move up in the tally.

Tweed Seagulls captain Lindon McGrady polled two points as his side claimed the honours in their Round 9 make-up match against Souths Logan Magpies at the weekend to see him move into the top eight on the standings.

Votes will now go behind closed doors, with the winner of the Petero Civoniceva Medal to be announced at this year’s end-of-season QRL Civoniceva Awards event, which will also reveal the Hostplus Cup team of the year winners as well as other major statewide competitions playing awards.

Petero Civoniceva Medal standings after Round 12

Player Team Points
Taine Tuaupiki Burleigh Bears 16
Trey Browne Central Queensland Capras 13
Jayden Hodges Northern Pride 12
Tyson Smoothy Sunshine Coast Falcons 12
Lindon McGrady Tweed Seagulls 11
Jayden Nikorima Brisbane Tigers 10
Trai Fuller Redcliffe Dolphins 9
Jamie Hill Central Queensland Capras 9

*Points tally collated by QRL scores coordinator Ken Cooper

Related Posts